Tufts Archives and Given Memorial Library
The Tufts Archives is a non-profit organization that preserves and displays the unique history of Pinehurst, North Carolina, from it's founding in 1895 to the present. The archives, located in a wing of the Given Memorial Library on the Village Green in Pinehurst, was built in 1975. It's creation was spurred by Richard S. Tufts, grandson of the founder of the village, James Walker Tufts. Richard Tufts and other family members created the Tufts Foundation, which provided the funding for the archives, and a small endowment. The archives operates through the generous donations of our patrons, the sale of images and graphics, and specific fundraisers. It is open to the public, researchers, media, and scholars free of charge.